Parkerdawson.com
February 05, 2012, 08:45:32 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Gallery Login Register  

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: $3500 Dawson on Cape Cod  (Read 1580 times)
rdubuque
Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Treasure: 1
Last Login:January 25, 2012, 11:21:18 pm
Posts: 310



Activity
6%

S/V Surrender

Respect: 0

View Profile
« on: July 29, 2009, 05:12:29 pm »
0

http://capecod.craigslist.org/boa/1293176924.html
rdubuque
Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Treasure: 1
Last Login:January 25, 2012, 11:21:18 pm
Posts: 310



Activity
6%

S/V Surrender

Respect: 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2009, 05:14:08 pm »
0

For some reason the link does not work.  If you paste the address into the address bar it does.  Below is the text, see link for pics.

Own this rare cult classic. The Midship or Parker Dawson 25 is a rare center cockpit design. Clean interior with new cushions/foam, mohagony hatch boards, Sleeps up to 5 in two seperate cabins -- great for families with children. This center cockpit design makes for a very sea-kindly motion on waves and swells and is very safe with high cockpit coamings (back rests). Lots of storage. This is hull 40 of about 400 built. These are one of the strongest most stable boats of this size and many have made Atlantic crossings. It has a pedestel steering wheel. It sleeps 2 in the rear cabin and 3 in the forward cabin with a porapot and a full galley, with sink and alcohol stove, ship to shore radio comes with 2 sails, all rigging and winches full guages. the upholstery is all good The motor runs well. It has a swing keel with a min of 2' draft when up. This boat has the socket for a second mast and was Ketch rigged. It comes with a very heavy duty trailer with newer tires. is in very good hauling condition. we used it the last three years without masts as a harbor cruiser
and party boat. it has a stainles steel bracket with a 50 hp force outboard. we have everything you would need to put back to sail. email me at
mzmystique2264@aol.com or call 508 9939187


    * Location: Dartmouth

BeeRanch
Supporter
Newbie
*****

Treasure: 0
Last Login:Yesterday at 03:58:15 am
Posts: 20



Activity
0%
Respect: 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2009, 05:34:15 am »
0

THAT AD IS A SCAM. I OWN THAT BOAT.  I PURCHASED IT IN WISCONSIN. IT IS NOW IN TEXAS. THE PICTURE OF THE BOAT  WITH THE BIMINI IS NOT THE SAME BOAT AS THE ONE IN THE BUILDING. DO NOT SEND MONEY TO "HOLD" THIS BOAT.
sfisher
Moderator
Full Member
*****

Treasure: 2
Last Login:February 02, 2012, 01:31:49 am
Posts: 233



Activity
3.4%
Respect: +1

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2009, 06:18:40 pm »
0

This notice and the warning have been frozen and left in place as a warning for all.

Good that a member knows the real story.  Hope he will report to Craigs List.

Steve in San Jose
Dawson 26, "Banana Split"
Hull 270
sfisher
Moderator
Full Member
*****

Treasure: 2
Last Login:February 02, 2012, 01:31:49 am
Posts: 233



Activity
3.4%
Respect: +1

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2009, 01:48:51 am »
0

Chapter TWO

I have talked with the owner.  He was in error on the hull number !  He purchased the boat at an auction at the Massachusetts Maritime Academy and had no contact with the owner.  He does have title put away, and will dig it out to correct the listing.

I told him I'd unlock the message board if he want to list the boat and include the complete Hull ID, to better inform us.

He does have the complete rig.  His mooring is upstream of a low bridge, so he decided to use the boat like a harbor launch instead of sailboat.  He has a larger powerboat project he wants to spend his time on and will sell this now.

He might not be listed on Craigslist after Evan complained.  He will have to explain that to Craigslist to see if they will let him continue the listing. 

He just called me with the HULLID  MDS501001173.  He somehow picked up the Hull 40 and photo of Evans boatfrom an old ad that he had seen.  He is not familiar with the history of the boats.

His boat is the one with the Bimini.

 

Steve in San Jose
Dawson 26, "Banana Split"
Hull 270
BeeRanch
Supporter
Newbie
*****

Treasure: 0
Last Login:Yesterday at 03:58:15 am
Posts: 20



Activity
0%
Respect: 0

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2009, 04:28:57 am »
0

I would be very skeptical of anything this advertiser says. He used the wording and pictures from the ad for my boat and then added the portion about the outboard motor. At the very least he is dishonest for using pictures of a boat he never has owned. If you do business with this person, don't give any money until you positively verify his ownership.

   
dart yart
Newbie
*

Treasure: 0
Last Login:August 08, 2009, 09:44:24 pm
Posts: 1



Activity
0%
Respect: 0

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 07:17:06 pm »
0

Sorry If I offended any one. Honestly I did not know all this info about my boat and  look to find it  on google.. there came up this site that had an all most identical boat as mine .. sorry that I took the words from your site, but the pictures look just like my boat and I thought I could use it to help sell mine.  Once again I am an honest person who made a computer error. Would never pull a fast one on anybody.  Selling on the computer is not my thing.  Sincerely Gary
BeeRanch
Supporter
Newbie
*****

Treasure: 0
Last Login:Yesterday at 03:58:15 am
Posts: 20



Activity
0%
Respect: 0

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2009, 02:46:30 pm »
0

  Hello Gary,

       I am not offended in any way. Come down to East Texas and I'll buy you a beer and take you catfishin.


       It is a very common scam on Craigs list and other internet sites for people to take pictures of cars, planes, boats, and children that have been posted on the internet and try to sell them. My brother is active on a Shelby Mustang site. His car has fraudulently come up for sale several times. The scammer will want up front money, usually sent by wire.

                             The reason I raised an alarm is that your ad fits this pattern.

 If you are a legitimate owner and honestly represent your boat, I have no problem.


    Evan



sfisher
Moderator
Full Member
*****

Treasure: 2
Last Login:February 02, 2012, 01:31:49 am
Posts: 233



Activity
3.4%
Respect: +1

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2009, 03:11:36 pm »
0

The conventional method for using  photos of other boats in commercial advertising by brokers and other is to identify the photo as, "Sistership!"

Then the reader knows that it is being used to show the general features of the boat.

Steve in San Jose
Dawson 26, "Banana Split"
Hull 270
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by S M F | © Parkerdawson.com | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!